Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend I had the chance to travel to Boston, Massachusetts for the first time!  I was super excited since Boston and Chicago are two U.S. cities I’ve never been to and I’ve been dying to check out.  Luckily for me, one of my best friends Melissa recently moved to Boston so more reason to visit!  However, last weekend I was there for a surprise bachelorette party weekend for one of my other best friends, Katie!

Melissa so was generous in allowing about 11 of us into her new place in Boston for the weekend.  She’s also part of the bridal party and they did an incredible job planning the entire thing and managing to keep this a secret from the bride for so long! Katie was so surprised/shocked/confused!  The perfect reaction mixed with a few tears…it was great.

I was so excited to visit Boston.  Not to sound cliché but I’m extremely passionate about traveling.  There is just something about venturing to new places and experiencing the foods, people, different cultures… it drives me.  This isn’t something new either.  I’ve always dreamed of traveling far and wide and have been fortunate enough to have had parents that took us (me and my siblings) on vacations.  I’ve always wanted to live a jet-set life and so far I’ve done pretty well in accomplishing this on my own.  My dad tells me “Tara, you’re full of wanderlust” and I can’t disagree with him.

Wanderlust /ˈwɒndəˌlʌst/  (noun) 1. A great desire to travel and rove about

Anyway.  I drove there from New Jersey which took me about 4 hours.  Everyone was arriving from all over via planes, trains, and automobiles on Friday evening so we just stayed in and ate food, consumed champagne and wine out of penis straws, and played bachelorette party games.  All while being serenaded by a young gentleman standing outside of Melissa’s apartment building on the street corner wearing a sweater and khakis, playing a piccolo for hours on end.  I’m still being haunted by the music in my sleep almost a week later.  We were told he’s out there every single night and don’t get me wrong, the piccolo is a beautiful instrument and I have nothing against piccolo players but, I’d go crazy having to listen to that outside my home for hours.

Saturday was a fun filled day starting at brunch at The Cafeteria. The food was amazing and I highly recommend their Sangria 🙂 I listed the link to their website:

http://www.cafeteriaboston.com/home1.php

Katie, the brunching bachelorette!

All of the girls at The Cafeteria in Boston!

All of the girls at The Cafeteria in Boston!

After brunch we took a tour of the Harpoon Brewery & Beer Hall located in Boston’s Seaport District.  Did some beer sampling during the tour, but to me it was more chugging as many samples as possible.  These were not full beers so I probably went to the bar about 8 times.  After the tour we were able to drink FULL beers and giant delicious soft pretzels in the Beer Hall.

http://www.harpoonbrewery.com/

Sampling beers at the Harpoon Brewery in Boston!

Sampling beers at the Harpoon Brewery in Boston!

Harpoon Brewery Beer Hall

Always keeping it classy.

Next Stop, how can you not visit the bar Cheers!?  Not sure how old some of the people reading my posts are but I sure do remember watching the TV sitcom “Cheers” as a kid.  So visiting this famous bar is a must in Boston!  The original Cheers bar, the one we went to, is on Beacon St. and does not look like the one on the TV show, but someone working in the gift shop told me there is another location that looks like it did on the show.

http://www.cheersboston.com/

Cheers!  Where everybody knows your name!

Cheers! Where everybody knows your name!

Cheers!!

Cheers!!

Boston was beautiful and so CLEAN!   A very cool city, and so much to do! I will definitely be going back to Boston to see and do more!

Until next time,

Tara

